It takes a village

When you send your child out into the world, you worry that they may not be cared for as you expect.  When your child has a food allergy, this fear is amplified by 1000.  I have struggled with this a lot lately as I’ve seen mothers and fathers post about the inconvenience food allergies cause them and their child(ren). For a parent of a child with severe food allergies the memory of that first hive break out or the unresponsiveness of the first anaphylactic reaction is enough to worry anyone. Knowing that there are school policies in place for lunch and specific foods allowed gives me enough peace of mind to not just keep my child at home – and yes, this was a comment a parent made: “All kids with food allergies should have to be home-schooled.”  I posted something similar to this on my Facebook page and was shocked to see parents who agreed with the statement or believed that kids with food allergies should be segregated.

Untitled.png 5

This issue even affected our decision in which school to place our child, as parents from the one he was going to attend started cyber ranting when the administration sent out a reminder that certain types of food were not allowed as part of school policy. These were not new policies that had been made for my child; these were already in place when we applied, but as I saw parent after parent complain about the “issue” I realized that in order to protect my child we could not go to this school.

I never wish a food allergy on anyone, especially a child, but I hope the world becomes more understanding of the dangers that lurk for those who do suffer from one.

 

~Lacey

Leave a Reply

